The Challenge of Elevator Speech: The What

Recently, I had an honor to meet a wonderful man in a formally informal setting.  Among many things, he asked me what my “elevator speech” was.  I said “Oh no, sir, there is no way to box me in like that”.  True, it would be hard to wrap my mind around all the aptitude and enthusiasm bubbling up inside. But the question got me thinking – elevator really is a box!  But am I seriously afraid to demarcate myself? Am I reluctant to limit my options?  Should I at least try to put my desire to be bigger than myself into a 30-second pitch? First things first. 

  • What is an elevator speech?

Wikipedia defines elevator speech as “a short summary used to quickly and simply define a person, profession, product, service, organization or event and its value proposition.”  Hmmm… there is definitely nothing simple about me.  However, let’s explore this oversimplified notion.

  • What is my value proposition?

Undeniably, the only thing people care about is what you can do for them.  Regardless of the context, regardless of who/what they are, regardless of your relationship, regardless of the economic or political situation in the company, in the country, or in the world, all they want to know is how you can make their shareholders better off.

My value proposition is my quest for excellence. I will always do everything possible to excel in any position, regardless of what I do.  My thirst for knowledge will never allow to settle for mediocre.  I believe in continuous improvement. Challenge is what motivates me.  Achievement is what inspires me.  I am always focused on the impeccable results without losing sight of the big picture. I persevere. I exceed expectations. I get things done.

I suppose that makes me a “doer”.  Not only because I focus on execution, but also because I learn best by doing.  In turn, knowledge gives me an insight and a differently new perspective on things. It makes it easier to recognize an opportunity to improve, fix, change.  In addition, I am not the kind to just sit and stare at the issue.  If I cannot fix it myself, I will knock on every possible door to see if action can be taken. I don’t leave business unfinished.

I approach every task with the “I can do anything” attitude.  And with the help of the right people I absolutely can.  I do not set limits for myself. I do not listen to people who think they know what I should be able to achieve: considering where I come from – I am a success story. I do not question how high or how far I can reach, I simply do.  This is why it is so hard to squeeze me into the 30-second speech.

That said, I think I am off to a good start.  You can read what I devised on my Elevator Pitch menu page.  What is your elevator speech?

SPEAK YOUR MIND

