The Challenge of Finding a Mentor

Would it surprise you to read that “finding a mentor is easier than you think”? It definitely shocked me.  I have been searching for a right one for years.  I never had one.  I had people that coached me (most likely because it was their job) and people that pushed me along the way (most likely because they did not want me taking up the space).  And to all of them I am deeply grateful.

However, I never had anyone genuinely take interest in my potential and help me in my professional (or personal) development.  Right now I am at a point in my career where I could greatly benefit from this kind of relationship.  I know that my experience, background and aptitude can be utilized in ways that are more beneficial to my organization.

Frankly, I am aware of some general areas that could use improvement.  However, I would like a different perspective and an honest opinion about my leadership style, my people skills, my writing, my accent, even my speech topic choices.  Basically, I need feedback.  I value constructive feedback and deal well with it. On the other hand, I would like it to be from a person who sees me for who/what I am and makes me feel that he/she is actually interested in helping me grow, even if only out of curiosity for the awesome entity I will become.

Of course, my BFF Google is full of tips on finding a mentor, and many say that networking should be a reality of life.  Despite all that, I believe that this type of a relationship should develop naturally.  Forcing it will just make it uncomfortable and frigidly cold for both parties involved.  This is probably the reason why I am reluctant to approach even the individuals that I openly admire.

According to The Free Dictionary, physics defines a potential as “the work required to move a unit of positive charge … from a reference point to a designated point in a static electric, magnetic, or gravitational field; potential energy.” Given all my energy and enthusiasm, could it be possible that the right mentor is all that is required to move someone in the desired direction in the insurance field?

One thought on “The Challenge of Finding a Mentor

  1. Great post. I agree that it should come naturally. Using the word mentor and being forced about it can scare people as it seems like such a big commitment. I have found my mentors by expressing an interest in what they do or asking a small piece of advice, if the rapport was good then I will invite them for coffee and keep in touch even when I don’t need specific advice because who wants to feel used?

    Like

SPEAK YOUR MIND

