The Challenge of Independence: Dress For Success Power Walk

“A woman is like a tea bag – you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water.” – Eleanor Roosevelt

As I have previously mentioned, I am one of the leads of the Networking Committee for a Women’s inclusion Network (WIN).  I have found that being a part of this organization gives me opportunities to participate in many events that I would not have been aware of otherwise. 

One of the community events that our team is taking part in is the Power Walk for Dress for Success organization. “Dress for Success is an international not-for-profit organization that promotes the economic independence of disadvantaged women by providing professional attire, a network of support and the career development tools to help women thrive in work and in life.” The organization helps women gain their own bank account and their own voice. It provides not only the attire that makes it possible to make a positive first impression at an interview, but also the training and career tools that allow these women to ace the interview.

I have joined the event, not only as a member of WIN, but also because I believe in the power of being financially independent. I pride myself on my self-sufficiency. I may have struggled all my life, but I can honestly say that I am who I am and I am where I am in life because of me and me only. I never depended on anyone, except my parents. To me there is a certain strength in that, which is why I support this cause. Becoming financially independent will open the door for these women to leave unhealthy situations, to define themselves as individuals, to sing their own song and, hopefully, rise up to inspire others.

Another reason that I have to share my connection to this organization? I wish I knew that this type of resources existed, when I needed them. So, let’s spread the word – let’s let women know that they are not alone, that there is help and that it is free. Let’s share and inspire confidence.

If you are in the Los Angeles area, we will be walking on September 26th, 2015, in Griffith Park. Registration starts at 9 am. 5K walk begins at 10 am.  If you are not in LA, you can use the Power Walk Locator to find an event in your area. If you are not able to walk with us, but still want to support the cause, I would be super thankful if you donated on my behalf. Thank you.

 

SPEAK YOUR MIND

