The Challenge of Interview: Tell me about yourself

“To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment.”  – Ralph Waldo Emerson

If you are like me, you are probably so nervous in the beginning of interview that you can hardly comprehend your own thoughts. This has got to be the reason that most interviews start with ice-breakers usually in the form of small talk and exchange of basic information. This means that one questions that you can expect is “Tell me about yourself”. While I usually respond with the elevator pitch and some touchpoints on my resume, for my next interview I am breaking up with the typical. 

  1. First of all, I am a rational mastermind. And this term relates to my personality type. There are other ways INTJs can be described – the Scientist, The systems thinker, the conceptualizer, even a Visionary. I like the Rational Mastermind the best because it reflects the way I think most accurately – I am all about logic, being objective and realistic in my assumptions, making decisions based on pros and cons, etc.
  2. Second, I am a multipotentialite.  This term means that I possess three very important super powers – rapid learning, idea synthesis, and adaptability. These super powers will make me effective at any job, as they are highly transferable.
  3. Another very important point about me is the way I approach my job and life in general – I am a constant work in progress. I seek to continuously improve my world – my skills of course, my job, my processes, etc. I am always seeking to stretch my limits, to learn something new, to grow.
  4. And lastly, I bleed Farmers Blue.

Another question that is almost guaranteed to come up is Why should I hire you?

There are many books, articles and blog posts with advise you on how to answer that question. According to the BigInterview, there are theoretically only four reasons to hire someone:

  • You possess the combination of skills and experiences that make you stand out from the crowd – My professional portfolio is a rainbow of very unique skills, education, expertise against a background that sets me apart from other candidates.
  • You can do the work and deliver exceptional results – I have the aptitude to perform every responsibility listed on the job description and the potential to excel at all of them. I am professionally mature and ready to increase the scope of my responsibilities.
  • You will fit in beautifully and be a great addition to the team – I have been focusing on networking and building relationships as part of my involvement with Women’s Network; also, I remain objective and professional in every situation, which allows me to work well with diverse teams.
  • Hiring you will make the interviewer look smart and make his life easier – I will support you and make you shine, as I thrive on achievement.

And that is what makes me the top prospect for the job. And that is why I should be hired.

What do you think? Do you have your own unconventional answers to these questions?

SPEAK YOUR MIND

