The Challenge of Passion: The Passion Plan

Passion is the greatest liberator of our potential and the truest reflection of our inner selves. – Richard Chang

In my quest for excellence I often return to the same notion – what is my passion? As my sister put it in her blog – I don’t have a “Thing”. Because of my rapid learning superpower that is characteristic of all multipotentialites I have an ability to master practically anything I put my mind to. However, as soon as I have the task figured out, I am ready to move on to my next challenge. I do not have a passion for one, single, specific “Thing”.

Is there anything wrong with not having a “Thing”? Would my life be completely different, if I had a “Thing”? To begin answering these questions I picked up “The Passion Plan” (The Passion Plan: A Step-by-Step Guide to Discovering, Developing, and Living Your Passion by Richard Chang) at the library. It is time to start the investigation into what I am passionate about, what I should focus my life on, and what role I should be targeting next.

The book does provide you with a roadmap for the journey from discovering what your passion is to establishing opportunities to make money by following your passion. The steps are very straightforward.

1. Start from the heart.
2. Discover your passions.
3. Clarify your purpose.
4. Define your actions.
5. Perform with passion.
6. Spread your excitement.
7. Stay the course.
8. Reap your rewards.

I especially liked that the steps seem to be logical and relevant to getting your to the ultimate goal. For example, passion is something close to your heart, thus, you should definitely listen to it. Defining your actions allows you to determine all the steps and the right direction for getting from where you are now to where you would like to be in terms of living a life filled with passion. Spreading your excitement will create a network of supporters, promoters, sponsors and advocates for you and the endeavor of your passion. Theoretically, this steps are very transferrable and can be applied to any undertaking.

The book has many real life examples that splendidly illustrate author’s points. In addition, all major points are summarized in “passion review” sections at the end of the passages. The worksheets at the end of each chapter ask the right questions to nudge your thinking in the direction of your plan – towards your passion.

The thing that I was not pleased to find out is that in addition to having a passion you have to figure out what your purpose is. “Passion without purpose is meaningless” (pg 114). Apparently, only after you marry the two, you can get on your way to gaining clarity over your life. “When you define a purpose for your passion, you reconcile it with reality” (pg 119). Sounds pretty good, doesn’t it? Unfortunately, “purpose” is another notion I struggle with. So maybe my first challenge should be the challenge of finding a purpose rather than discovering my passions. I’m sure there is an app (a book?) for that.

One thing I know for sure – I have a passion for learning. The new challenge is to determine how to put it to work and make money doing it.

What is your passion? Have you been able to put it to work for you?

SPEAK YOUR MIND

